Skip to content
HIT Board

Nebraska Health Information Technology (HIT) Board

Improving the quality and collection of Nebraska’s healthcare data.

About the HIT Board

In 2020, the Nebraska Legislature passed LB 1183, the Population Health Information Act. This included the creation of the Nebraska Health Information Technology (HIT) Board. The Board is composed of seventeen members who are appointed by the Governor and then confirmed by the Legislature. The majority of members on the Board are credentialed healthcare providers, enabling them to use their clinical experience and expertise to make the most informed decisions about the health data that they help govern.

As the statutorily designated statewide health information exchange, CyncHealth is tasked in statute with administering the HIT Board.

People holding a meeting at a table

The purpose of the HIT Board is to:

  • Establish criteria for data collection and disbursement by the statewide health information exchange and the prescription drug monitoring program to improve the quality of information provided to clinicians;
  • Evaluate and ensure that the statewide health information exchange is meeting technological standards for reporting of data for the prescription drug monitoring program, including the data to be collected and reported and the frequency of data collection and disbursement;
  • Provide the governance oversight necessary to ensure that any health information in the statewide health information exchange and the prescription drug monitoring program may be accessed, used, or disclosed only in accordance with the privacy and security protections set forth in HIPAA;
  • Provide recommendations to the statewide health information exchange on any other matters referred to the board.

For more information, the Population Health Information Act & the enacting statutes can be found beginning here.

Agendas are typically posted here a week in advance of upcoming meetings. View the most recent HIT board meeting agenda here:

Access the Waiver From Participation due to technological burden here:

HIT Board Roster

Manuela Banner

Memorial Community Hospital and Health System

Hospital CEO

Dr. Jessika Benes

Mid Plains Mobile Vet

Dr. Aimee Black

Nebraska Total Care

PDMP Delegate

Dr. Jaime Bland


HIE Representative

Senator Robert Clements

NE Legislature

Chair of Appropriations Committee

Dr. Douglass Haas

UNMC College of Nursing – Kearney Division

Nurse Practitioner

Senator Ben Hansen

Chair of HHS Committee

NE Legislature

Chair of  HHS Committee

Dr. Kimberley Haynes-Henson


Pain Medicine Physician

Dr. Mark Latta

Creighton University School of Dentistry


Dr. Monalisa Mcgee-Baratta

Salvation Army

Substance Abuse Professional

Ashley Newmyer

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services

DHHS Representative

Felicia Quintana-Zinn

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services

Individual with experience in operating the PDMP

Dr. Stephen Salzbrenner


Physician (Psychiatry)

Dr. Phillip Vuchetich



The following seats are currently open for appointment by the governor:

  • Payor Representative
  • Family Practice Physician
  • Health Information Management Representative

Meeting Minutes Approved by the HIT Board.

The following minutes have been approved by the Nebraska HIT Board. The minutes are listed in chronological order, with the most-recent minutes listed first.